National Level – Kaveri Hackathon-1.0

Kannada Sangha Pune’s Kaveri College of Arts, Science and Commerce organized a National Level Hackathon -1.0 on 20th and 21st December 2019, in association with MTC Global Bengaluru, Dhaka International University and  Global Entrepreneurs Grid  Bengaluru.  The event was inaugurated at the hands of Principal Dr. Ashok Agrawal in the presence of Dr. Muckta Karmarkar, Vice Principal, Dr. Jayashri Bangali, IQAC Coordinator & B.Sc (CS) Coordinator, Mentors and Judges of Hackathon, Mr. Amit Bagaitkar, Director-Product Engineering Harman International, Mr. Tushar Chaudhari Program Manager, Harman International, Ms. Madhuri Deshpande, HOD Computer Science, S. P. College, Pune , Ms. Chitra Alavani Coordinator Kaveri Hackathon and other faculty members.


On the first day of this two days event, students were given eight problem statements concerned with issues like food wastage management for canteen, bus routing management, car pooling, etc. out of which they had to choose one problem for implementation. Respective teams were given three hours to comprehend and grasp the problem, design a solution for it after which they were evaluated. On the second day students presented their problem statements, their understanding of the problem, scope considered and assumptions made for solving the problem along with the team break down structure on the basis of which they were evaluated.


The prize distribution ceremony was held on 21 December 2019 at the hands of Dr. Ashok Agrawal, Principal, Kaveri College. At the time of prize distribution ceremony Mr. Amit Bagaitkar suggested the participants that they should spend more time in designing the solution instead of just building block of codes. He also advised the participants to have in-depth understanding of subjects like Mathematics and Statistics as these subjects help in logic building and are useful for the upcoming fields like data sciences. Total 12 teams from colleges in Pune like MIT WPU, Fergusson College, Pratibha Institute of Business Management, Modern College of Business Administration apart from Kaveri College of Arts, Science and Commerce participated in the competition. The team from Pratibha Institute of Business Management consisting of Mr. Dev Thakur, Mr. Rohan Shelar, Mr. Vivek Thakur, Mr. Virender Vishwakarma and Mr. Badal Chauhan won the first prize worth Rs. 7000, the team from Ferguson College consisting of Ms. Shivalika Saxena, Mr. Atharva Madiwale, Ms. Mariam Andagi, Ms. Pranoti Gaikwad and Mr. Abhishek Kushare  won the second prize worth Rs 5000 and the team from MIT WPU consisting of Mr. Anuj Shenoy, Mr. Akshay Galande and Mr. Rishikesh Mane won the third prize of Rs 3000.  All the students received participation certificates. The Hackathon- 1.0 thus became yet another successful and memorable event for the college.

Back to Top